Venus Williams, Dominic Thiem and other Grand Slam champions did not receive French wild cards

The French Tennis Federation (FFT) announced the players who will receive wild cards for the upcoming French Open in a statement on Tuesday, awarding most of the spots to French players.

It is worth noting that Grand Slam champions Simona Halep, Venus Williams, Dominic Thiem, Caroline Wozniacki and Emma Raducanu did not receive foreign aid. card, and due to their current standings, they both need wild cards.

Halep, who returned to competition in March after her doping suspension was reduced, won the 2018 French Open in addition to her 2019 Wimbledon title.

Seven-time Grand Slam champion Williams has not played the event since 2021, while 2020 US Open champion Thiem is a former Roland Garros finalist. Timme recently announced that he will retire at the end of this season due to a lingering wrist injury.

Wozniacki, the 2018 Australian Open champion, twice reached the quarter-finals in Paris and returned to competition in August after three years of retirement.

Raducanu became the first qualifier in Open Era history to win a major at the 2021 U.S. Open and advanced to the second round in his only appearance at Roland Garros in 2022.

Thiem, Wozniacki and Raducanu can get seats in the main draw through the qualifiers starting on Monday.

Players who received wild cards include French players Alize Cornet, Fiona Ferro, Kristina Mladenovic, Richard · Richard Gasquet, Harold Mayot and Pierre-Hugues Herbert, the former world No. 11 announced that they will Retired after the game. Americans Sachia Vickery and Nicolas Moreno de Alboran received wild cards through a reciprocal agreement between FFT and USTA.

The main draw of the French Open will kick off in Paris on May 26. Iga Swiatek and Novak Djokovic are the defending champions.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *